St. Louis Personal Injury Attorney for Workers’ Compensation Claims
If you’ve been injured or negatively affected by workplace conditions, you may qualify for Workers’ Compensation benefits.
Workers’ compensation is used to pay employees for damages that are incurred as a result of a work-related injury or serious illness. Each state has different laws and programs that dictate the extent of workers’ compensation benefits. Generally speaking, an employee may receive workers’ compensation benefits regardless of who is at fault for the illness or injury. In exchange for these benefits, however, the employee usually forfeits the right to sue their employer for injury or illness damages.
Workers’ Compensation Law in Illinois
Most states have a notice requirement stipulating that injuries be reported within a certain amount of time to be considered for workers’ compensation. In Illinois, injuries must be reported to the employer within in 45 days, with a few exceptions. Once the injury is reported, you have up to three years after the date of the injury to file for workers’ compensation benefits.
The dictation of medical treatment also varies from state to state. In Illinois, you have the right to choose which medical provider will evaluate and treat your injury. This right is to be taken seriously and you should choose a provider that you trust. When you work with Lieser Law Firm, we make sure to help you choose the best medical provider suited for aiding your recovery.
Although Illinois residents have the ability to choose their own provider, there are still laws and rules that govern who you see for medical treatment for a workers’ compensation claim. We make sure you understand these rules and won’t be penalized for seeing the wrong physician.
Workers’ Compensation Law in Missouri
The notice requirements in Missouri are a little different than in Illinois. Missouri residents have only 30 days to report their injury to their employer, with a few exceptions. The Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act allows for employees to file for workers’ compensation benefits within two years of the injury date.
For medical treatment in Missouri, the employer has the right to choose which medical provider will evaluate and treat the injured employee. However, employees still have the right to get a second opinion, and an experienced personal injury attorney at Lieser Law Firm can provide counsel on where to get the best second opinion.
Employer Retaliation for Workers’ Compensation
Workers should be able to receive workers’ compensation benefits without punishment from their employer. It is illegal for an employer to terminate or punish an employee for receiving workers’ compensation. Doing so would be considered employer retaliation, which can be legally disputed with the help of an experienced personal injury attorney.
Seek Legal Advice from a Personal Injury Attorney Immediately
Because of the complicated laws, programs, and stipulations related to filing a workers’ compensation claim, you should seek the advice of an attorney as soon as possible. The actions taken immediately after you are injured are crucial to making sure that you receive the best, most comprehensive benefits possible.
We are ready to start helping you today — just give us a call or send us an e-mail.
It is our job to protect YOU and YOUR family! If you have questions about your workers’ compensation benefits or want to know more about employer retaliation, contact the experienced personal injury attorneys at Lieser Law Firm to receive a FREE legal consultation.
If you have been injured or are suffering because of the carelessness of someone else, let us offer you a free case evaluation. Send us an email about your accident & we will contact you today.
Free Case Evaluation
Send us an email about your accident & we will contact you today.
Saint Louis, Missouri Office
Lieser Law Firm, LLC
1034 S. Brentwood Blvd. PH-1C
Saint Louis, Missouri 63117
Southern Illinois Office
Lieser Law Firm, LLC
(By Appointment Only)
6 Executive Woods Court
Belleville, Illinois 62226